SIGNS

So back in the last century, 1999 to be exact, a friend of mine used to tell me she had to be home to watch The Sopranos.  I really thought that was odd because she usually didn’t like that type of music.  When I finally asked her about it, she fell into a fit of laughter and explained that it was a show on HBO about a New Jersey mob family known as “THE SOPRANOS.”  It was pretty funny but maybe you had to be there! Well that sounded like it was right up my alley so of course I started watching.   JAMES GANDOLFINI, whose unexpected passing shocked and saddened fans everywhere, played the part of Tony Soprano, Capo di tutti Capi….in other words the ‘boss of all bosses.’  Of course, NY and Philly had their own, but Tony was ours! lol  They filmed all around Northern New Jersey, (where, by the way, he grew up…just a few miles from me) including the bar/dance club ‘Satin Dolls’ which they renamed the ‘BADA BING CLUB’ for the show.  You’d know they were filming there because the Satin Dolls sign was down and the Bada Bing one was up.  Driving by,  sometimes you’d even see them shooting scenes outside in the parking lot, (like the one where Ralphie (Joey Pantoliano) beats up and kills his girlfriend….but that’s another story. Trust me, he got his in the end!)  Anyway, the owner of Satin Dolls put this sign up yesterday as a tribute to James Gandolfini, or Tony Soprano as he will be forever known in these parts.  If you’ve never seen the show, I highly recommend watching a couple of episodes…..I’m sure you’ll get hooked.  It was one of the best critically acclaimed shows ever and was on from 1999 to 2007 & the ending was one of the strangest I have ever seen!  Just for the record, Edie Falco, who played the part of Tony’s wife, Carmella, was as outstanding as he was in the show. They each won three Emmys plus numerous other awards.

.

Here’s a great article from a local paper:  “WHETHER WE WATCHED HIS SHOW OR NOT, JAMES GANDOLFINI DID NEW JERSEY PROUD.”

.

Signs

Signs .

REST IN PEACE JIMMY GANDOLFINI & THANK YOU FOR YOUR BODY OF WORK – IT WILL LIVE ON FOREVER

.

gandolfini

.

9 responses to “SIGNS

  1. I never seen the show, but of course I knew who he was….what a wonderful memorial. I think this winter I will watch it on Netflix!

    Like

    • Being a fan of Dexter….I’m sure you’ll enjoy this show. Maybe you can watch it in place of Dexter since this is it’s last season. 😥 Can’t wait to see how they’re going to end it!

      Like

  2. Must be interesting to have them shoot a series or movie in your local area. I never watched this as I was working full time with 3 school girls and no time for TV. May have to rent the DVD’s .

    Like

So........what do you think?

