75 – O SOLE MIO

This is an old record (dated September 22, 1903 – Victor Talking Machine Co., Camden, NJ) of Enrico Caruso singing O Sole Mio….you can hear him singing it HERE.  The video is not of the record being played on my gramophone but it’s as close as I could get. I wish you could hear it played on the one I have, with all it’s crackling and scratches. It might not sound like it would be, but it’s amazing!  “His Master’s Voice” :)  EDIT: Serendipity??? I just discovered that today is Caruso’s birthday. Now that’s weird!

75_O Sole Mio

14 responses to “75 – O SOLE MIO

  1. Love the depth of field that you have been able to get with this! I wish I could hear the record play, it’s such a different sound than the CD’s, MP3′s and all the other new devices. Vinyl has a sound of it’s own!

  2. Tnank you for visiting my blog.

    I love your LP photo. Your picture/video/comment combo is charming and full of imagery. I have just decided to pick up my faltering blog with daily posts, and Thursdays, I was going to do a web or video link with commentary. I hope you will come by and visit me again. :)

So........what do you think?

